College to host MLK program

MLKThe “We Are the Dream” theme will be highlighted at today's Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemorative Celebration. 

Campus and community residents are encouraged to attend the program at 1 p.m. in the College's McCain Theater. There is no admission charge. 

MCC Trustee Rev. LaBaron Hedgemon will be the keynote speaker. Other program highlights include the announcement of the Billy C. Beal Award to community leader Ricky Hood; and the naming of the Charles L. Young family scholarship winners to MCC students Christopher Beckman, Meshelia Harris, and Breanna Gordon.  

Both high school and college students who won the creative contest will be recognized. High school winners are John Clayton Kitchens, first; MiKayla Edwards, second; and Logan McClinton, third. College winners include Tyler Townsend, first; Malia Greer, second; and Jamiah Warnsley, third.