MCC Hall of Fame

Each year, MCC honors a group of servant-leaders who have distinguished themselves in their professions and their community service with the Highest Flying Eagles Hall of Fame award.

Honorees are alumni who have excelled in their careers and life missions and have elevated MCC's esteem through their achievements, service and association with the institution.



2021 Honorees

Neil Henry
Regional President, Citizens National Bank
Wanda McPhail
MCC Tennis Coach, Retired
Michele Smith
MCC Athletic and Fitness Center Director, Retired
Dr. Reginald Sykes
President, Bishop State Community College

  • Betty Young-Cryer
    RN, MSN, NE-BC, CRRN at Anderson Regional Medical Center
  • McKenzie Corey Dickerson
    Miami Marlins National Baseball player
  • Justice Kenny Griffis
    Mississippi Supreme Court Justice
  • Joseph Michael Ponds

    Paul Broadhead & Associates, construction coordinator

  •  Dr. Cedric Bradley
    Vice President, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
  • Dusty Culpepper                    
    Air National Guard

  • Debbie Galyean Mathis         
    East Mississippi Business Development Corporation

  • Dr. Richie McAlister
    Associate Vice President for Workforce Education, MCC

  • Michael Thompson
    Dean of Academic Affairs, Meridian Community College

  • Soraya Welden
    Vice President of Operations, Meridian Community College

  • Billy Beal
    MCC Associate VP Learning Resources (Posthumously)
  • Jimmie Evans
    Retired MCC Social Science Instructor
  • Rev. Scotty Cole
    MCC Gospel Choir Instructor/Director
  • Dr. Kathy Baxter
    Retired MCC Associate Vice President, Research, Development, and Governmental Affairs Instructor
  • Dr. Daniel Newell
  • Richie McAlister, III
    City of Meridian, Chief Administrative Officer
  • Shirley Nell Goodman
    Retired Associate VP Workforce Education Instructor  
  • Janet Heggie
    Retired Workforce Instructor

  • Rhonda Burrage
    Math Teacher/MPS and Milken Award Winner
  • Dr. Betty Davis
    MCC Nursing
  • Dr. Miles Shirley
  • Joe Clay Hamilton

  • Dr. Joe Anderson                   
    Chaplin, Anderson Regional Medical Center
  • Dr. LaBaron Hedgemon        
    Pastor of Freedom Rock Church
  • Ret. Col. Howard Malone      
    Retired United States Army
  • Ben Scaggs                            
    Associate Deputy for the US Environmental Protection Agency
  • Dr. Jamie Osby Williams      
    Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy

  • Dr. Lana Jackson                   
    Mississippi Medical Center Jackson
  • Dr. Ben Rush                         
    Rush Foundation Hospital
  • Dr. Shawn Anderson             
    Anderson Regional Medical Center
  • Dr. Lavon Fluker Reed          
    Retired Superintendent of Ackerman MS School District
  • Fannie Johnson              
    Love’s Kitchen
  • Dan Hollingsworth         
    Retired Mayor of Rustin, Louisiana

  • Dr. Kim Benton                     
    Doctor of Education
  • Kathy Brookshire                  
    MCC Associate Vice President for Development
  • The Hon. Dustin Markham    
    City Council/Attorney
  • Joe McCraney                        
    Certified Public Accountant             
  • Mark Porter

  • Jamie Cater                            
    Owner of Cater’s Market
  • Joyce Frank                            
    Real Estate
  • Roscoe Jones                        
    Civil Rights Activist
  • Joe Charles Sanders
    Sanders Gas
  • Robert Sanford                      
    Benefits Management Insurance

  • Ricardo Gillispie                    
  • Donald R. Massey                 
  • Gary Wilkinson                     
    Investment Broker
  • Leigh Adams White               

  • Jennifer Avara Lott                
  • David Batarseh                      
  • Von Burt                                
  • Randy Nance                         
  • Syria Sturdivant                     

  • Gene Goldman
    Director, NASA John C. Stennis Space Center
  • J.F. “Bud” Thompson, Jr.
    Insurance Executive
  • F.E. “Eddie” Holladay
    Radio Station Owner/Entrepreneur
  • Pam Tvarkunas                      
    Riley Hospital Administrator
  • Terry Williams                      
    MCC Physical Plant Director

  • E.M. “Hoot” Gipson
    Owner of Gipson Steel
  • Larry Love  
    Owner & CEO of Specialty Roll Products
  • Tony Pompelia
    Owner of Leading Edges Advertising/Marketing Firm
  • Gerry Purvis                          
    Owner of Purvis Business Machines
  • Jack Shank                             
    Former Director of Adult Education & Dean of Continuing Education (MCC)

  • B.B. Archer
    Archer Architects, PLLC
  • Jacquelyn Van Zyverden Hogan             
    Van Zyverden, Inc. Chief Executive Officer
  • Leslie Usher                           
    Great Southern National Bank President & Chief Financial Officer
  • Charles Frank Winstead        
    Retired Educator; Founder, Advocate for Excellence in America’s Classrooms

  • Norma Bourdeaux                 
    Former State Representative
  • Mark McPhail                        
    Jeff Anderson Regional Medical Center Chief Executive Officer
  • C.D. Smith
    (A T & T) Regional Manager/MCC Board of Trustees (Member)
  • Wallace Strickland
    Rush Health Systems Chief Executive Officer
  • Ralph E. Young, Jr.               
    Local Attorney / MCC Board of Trustees Chairman

  • Barbara Jones                        
    MCC Dean of Academic Affairs /Lauderdale Co. School Board Member
  • Richard Kelly                        
    Northeast Lauderdale Middle School Principal
  • Dr. Tommy McDonald          
    MCC Vice President for Operations
  • Dr. Clarence W. Roberts       
    Longtime MCC Vice President for Instruction
  • Ed Skipper                             
    Chief Fiscal Officer for the City of Meridian

  • Sylvia Autry                          
    Superintendent of Meridian Public Schools
  • Videt Carmichael                   
    State Senator and longtime Clarkdale educator
  • David Little                            
    Superintendent of Lauderdale County Schools
  • Billy Sollie                             
    Sheriff of Lauderdale County
  • Vel Young                             
    Assistant District Attorney

  • Phillip Martin                        
    Head of the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians

  • Ronnie Miller                       
    MCC Fine Arts Division Chair and major promoter of the arts in the community

  • Dr. William F. Scaggs           
    MCC President Emeritus
  • Tommy Dulaney                    
    Owner of Structural Steel Services
  • Lou Weddington Hart            
    Six-time champion of the Mississippi Women’s State Amateur Golf  Tournament